A Little Touch of Magic | The Journey

newtwitter

Roughly this time last year, I started writing a story. It began on the website WattPad and it was just something fun for me to upload and write at my leisure. I started uploading a chapter every week (often forgetting though) and gradually saw a build in votes, reads and comments.

Fast forward to January 2017 and the story was finished and uploaded in full to WattPad. Now that it was complete, I started to think about what I wanted to do with it next. THe obvious answer was to publish it.

I’ve fallen in love with Ilaina, the eleven-year-old main character, and her world and I fully plan to continue this series and publish more. So, with that in mind, I’ve decided to self-publish A Little Touch of Magic via Amazon in September of this year.

I thought it would be interesting to chronicle this journey now that I have taken my first steps towards publication. I have a revision and marketing schedule and am already planning for things like a blog tour and an online book launch event (logistics to worry about a little later down the line!).

So, my Sunday post slot will now be filled with A Little Touch of Magic’s journey.


The Road So Far…

So far, the first draft has been uploaded in full on WattPad. It has a cover that I made myself and it’s… not the best. I’ll admit that readily after having read through it again to do some quick revision lately.

I’ve acquired a new cover from an amazing graphic designer friend of mine and am currently having it looked over by an editor friend of mine (mates rates from both means I’m not going broke, hurrah!).

I’ve pieced together a book trailer for YouTube using free videos from online and music from another friend of mine (I have an abundance of incredibly talented friends, thank goodness!).

It’s currently in the hands of two beta readers. Friends of mine from SCBWI (Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators) and I can’t wait to get their feedback so I can start on my next round of revisions.

I’m currently about half a month ahead of schedule, so I’m very pleased with that. I’m working on interior graphics for the novel and promotional graphics (such as the banner above) for the likes of Twitter and Facebook (although I really need to update my FB!).

So far, so good.

Total investment: £61.81

One thought on “A Little Touch of Magic | The Journey

Leave a Reply

