Word Count Monday

Every Monday, I plan to do an update post on how my writing has gone the week before. I’ll talk a little about the books I’m working on and how much I’ve written/edited throughout the week and hopefully you guys find it interesting!


Writing

I decided to kick 2017 off by writing The Moon Child, my middle grade magical realism set in a fictional town in Scotland. I would like it to be around 35,000 words by the end of its first draft and so that is my goal for January – to have a finished first draft ready by the end of the month. I’ll be looking for beta readers nearer the end of the month so folks can read it over February and give me some feedback to improve it.

Anyway, the first week of writing did not go as swimmingly as I’d hoped. I was aiming to write 8,000 words this week and here’s what I actually got:

untitled

Having only written 1/4 of what I had hoped to achieve, I know that I’m still rusty from not having written regularly for a long time (if you don’t count the NaNoWriMos I’ve participated in).

I’ll admit that I’ve been distracted this week with the Bout of Books readathon as well – doing extra posts for my review blog while reading was taking up a fair chunk of time – so I probably haven’t dedicated the time I should be to my writing.


Goals

So, here’s my goals for the coming week:

  • The Moon Child to 10,000 words
  • Fully outlined books 1 and 2 of Within These Walls series
  • Within These Walls #3 5,000 words added to draft

I was halfway through my draft of the third book in Within These Walls’s series when I stopped and I want to finish that draft before I sit down and completely outline and rewrite the series. I’m a pantser by nature so plotting and planning isn’t something I do at all and that’s something that I want to work on this year.

Do you have any writing goals this week? What are you working on?

Have a great day x

Leave a Reply

