2016: What a year…

I thought I would take a moment to look back on my 2016 and reflect on what an amazing year it has been.

In January of 2016, I was one month into my new job. One month into living with my boyfriend and one month into having no money! It was such a huge change at the end of my 2015 – moving out of my parents’ house for the first time to a city 45 minutes away, moving from a job I’d been in for 5 years to one that was less hours and less pay – but I honestly still believe it was the best thing I could have done.

I may be ending this year with a lot less money, but I’m also ending it having gathered and taken advantage of so many opportunities.

I don’t recall much of what happened in January, but I do remember that we adopted our second kitten – a little black, semi-feral kitten we called Gray – and he joined our little family smashingly.

February and March are distant memories, which means nothing of particular interest probably happened during them – or I just can’t remember!

In April, I was lucky enough to be gifted a ticket to the London Book Fair by Accent Press and so I headed down to London on the train (3 trains, 2 changes, 7 hours!) all by myself for the first time in my life. I was worried that I would panic or have an anxiety attack but nope, I was perfectly fine.

At the London Book Fair I met so many people, attended a great seminar on how to get into publishing, and also grab a couple of opportunities while I was there.

In May, my boyfriend and I forgot our two year anniversary – that’s all I remember of that month.

June saw me begin my internship at the Ben Illis Agency as a reader. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed it so far and I’ve seen some rather interesting query techniques in the process (best way to spot the dos and don’ts is reading through a slushpile!).

June also saw my boyfriend and I taking our first holiday together. We went to Amsterdam for a week and it was a beautiful place. I loved the weather, the environment, being able to walk to everything! We went to a couple of really wonderful museums and just soaked up the relaxed atmosphere of the city.

In July, I met Brandon Sanderson. I still can’t believe that happened, and the fact that we were able to get tickets to the event last minute! He was doing an event in Edinburgh and it was well worth going to. Absolutely brilliant night!

August was a bit of a quiet month if you don’t count the fact that our neighbours (we live in a block of flats) starting shouting at each other so often it was like living on the set of Eastenders or something.

On the upside, I was able to get to Teri Terry’s event at the Edinburgh International Book Festival during August.

September was super quiet – almost as if I didn’t do anything because I can’t remember and scrolling through social media got me nada.

October, however, was fantastic. I was accepted onto the SYP (Society of Young Publishers) mentorship scheme (although I haven’t heard from my assigned mentor in nearly two months) and I was also a volunteer at the Dundee Literary Festival! The festival was absolutely brilliant. I loved every minute of every day that I was there helping out. I got to sit in on some awesome events and I even got a couple of signed books out of it!

November was NaNoWriMo, which I spectacularly failed at. I did go to the SCBWI (Society of Childrens Book Writers and Illustrators) conference in Winchester and it was the best event ever. I’m already saving to go again in 2017. I won’t say too much about it because I did a wrap up for each of the three days at the beginning of my Blogmas posts.

December I spent Christmas with my family, sold a lot of old junk on eBay, said goodbye to my old manager at work, and got frustrated over not getting a bath fitted in our bathroom (thanks home insurance! >.>).

It’s been a very mellow end of the year but I’m very excited to see where the next year will take me.

I’m going to post about my goals for 2017 in a couple days, so keep an eye out for that!

2016 has been an excellent year for me with so many opportunities, pushing myself, and just generally moving forward.

2017, I’m waiting to see what you have to offer me.

Have a great New Year guys! x

 

Leave a Reply

