A Little Touch of Magic | A WattPad Story

Hey guys! How was your Christmas? Mine was pretty good, if a bit quiet. I’m posting today to promote a story that I’ve been uploading on WattPad for almost a year now. It’s a middle grade, magical realism story following a little girl called Ilaina. See below for more details!


a-little-touch-of-magic-v2

Ilaina is an orphan with no memory of her time before the orphanage. Although the matron has always been nice to her, and the other children generally let her be, Ilaina has always been restless. Something big was coming. She wasn’t sure what, but she knew that it would change her life. What she didn’t expect was a haggard older gentleman who wanted to adopt her. Who was he? And why was he so interested in her? She had never told anyone about her fairies; the little creatures she could summon when she wanted, but this man spoke as though he knew of them.

Unsure as to whether she should be wary or not, Ilaina tries to keep her distance from her new adoptive parent by exploring his large house with many dark passages and hidden secrets. Just who was this man who had taken her away from her humdrum life? And what was he keeping hidden in his home…

If you would like to read the story, you can find it here. I’ve just uploaded chapter twenty-three today and there’s only a few chapters left before it’s finished!

I know I probably shouldn’t admit this, but I haven’t planned this series out in full. I do know that I want it to be twenty-six books, with each title being the corresponding letter of the alphabet.

After completing the first book on WattPad, I will be uploading the first five chapters of the second book (and every book thereafter) so that readers can have a taste of what happens in each book, but I do plan to self-publish the series as a whole (most likely ebook only).

I’m excited to see what this year will bring for this series. I’m working with a graphic designer friend of mine to create beautiful covers for the entire series (instead of my made-in-paint version above) and I’m really happy with the readership that it’s gathered so far in uploading the first draft to WattPad.

I’ve discovered that people will often overlook minor mistakes on WattPad if you let them know that it is the first draft being uploaded as written.

I’m hoping to grow my audience throughout this year and see where this series takes me.

Has anyone else used WattPad to promote themselves as a writer and build their audience? What’s been your experience?

Leave a Reply

