#Blogmas | SCBWI Conference 2016: Part Three

We’re on to the final day of my SCBWI 2016 conference wrap up! Sunday felt like it was far too short a day – in fact, the whole weekend flew by so fast!

tumblr_odm7p6jsef1tb8iyko1_500

Sunday began with the Outstanding Contribution Awards. It was great to see so many SCBWI volunteers recognised for all their hard work. Our previous region coordinators, Sheila and Louise, won for their roles and it was very well deserved!

After the awards was the PULSE Keynote from Sarah Davies of Greenhouse Literary Agency. It was also really informative. She spoke about what she personally looks for in submissions sent to her and spoke a bit about her agency and her career.


After the keynote, it was time for the morning session. I chose to attend the SPARK session on Self-Publishing  considering I have self-published in the past doing everything wrong! It was a really great panel of diverse backgrounds with a variety of success with their self-publishing projects.

It was great getting to know my fellow attendees and we did a massive business card swap at the end of the session so I’m definitely going to look up everyone who gave me a card… just as soon as I can find them all, my desk is a mess right now!


After a quick lunch, I headed to the last session of the weekend. To build on the self-publishing talk I was at in the morning, I chose to go to the Self Promotion session led by Paul Stickland in the afternoon.

While this talk was interesting, Paul focused a lot on school visits – understandably as they can be a great source of promotion and revenue for authors. As someone who isn’t quite at that stage, I was hoping for a bit more on online promotion, which was covered briefly at the beginning.

Despite it not being quite what I had hoped, the email with links that Paul sent after the conference has been an invaluable source for me and I’m still working through the whole thing.


And that was it. I headed back to the Stripe Auditorium to collect my suitcase and find the other SE Scotland scoobies that were getting on the same plane home as me and said my goodbyes to the numerous lovely folks I’d met over the weekend.

I’ve come home with a ton of new worksheets to keep my creative endeavours in check and a wealth of knowledge that I didn’t have before. I’m already saving and looking forward to next year’s conference!

After a lengthy wait in the airport, I made it back to my own bed somewhere around 11pm on Sunday night, all tuckered out and not at all ready for work in the morning.


I’m sad that it’s over but very much looking forward to what 2017 will have in store for me – especially if I can make it to more workshops and things run by SCBWI!

P.S. Justin, if you’re reading this. I love you for recommending RuPaul’s drag race. I’ve watched almost every episode available on Netflix!

See you guys tomorrow for another Blogmas post!

Leave a Reply

