#31 NaNoWriMo Begins!

So NaNoWriMo started on Saturday and I’m pretty pleased with my progress so far. I’m just a little ahead of the target word count for yesterday – I’m on 3,347 words – and I’ll be sitting down at some point today to write my 1,667 words for today (hopefully).

My biggest issue right now is that I have an essay due for my A230 Literature module and I’ve only got around 150 words written for it (I need 1500 for the essay). It’s due on the 6th, so I’m cutting it a bit fine. I’m hoping that today I’ll manage to get it to the halfway point and then I’ll finish it tomorrow and revise it on Wednesday (ready to submit for Thursday). I’m finding it a bit difficult, if I’m honest. The essay is to be on a passage from Othello and I just didn’t love that book, so I’m finding it hard to really find what it is I should be writing about. If in doubt, I’ll waffle through it and hope for the best. Close reading and textual analysis were never my strong points in English.

I’ve also got some chapters back from my editing client to look over as well. Luckily, there’s only four of them so it won’t take me long (I’m doing one a day at the minute, so she’ll have them back on Wednesday) but it eats into time I could otherwise be spending on my essay or my NaNo.

While I’m on the topic of things I would like to get out the way so I can focus on NaNo. My drawings for the Wales Comic Con guests still need to be done before the end of the month and I’ve lost my art things – namely my blending sticks and knead-able eraser (which are essential for the kind of portraits I draw!).

It has been stress city for me this last week, honestly. I’m surprised I haven’t had some kind of meltdown with everything that’s been going on. Thankfully, NaNo is keeping me pretty sane right now.

So, instead of ranting for the entire time on this post, here’s an excerpt of what I wrote yesterday for An Epic Tale:

“Excuse me.” Abernath turned as something large tapped him on the shoulder. “Couldn’t help but overhear. Are you going to the castle in Fibbletown?”

Before them stood the oddest man Abernath had ever seen. He was wearing a large hat that was tipped over his face and a bushy beard covered what little of his face you could see. His body was enveloped in a long, navy blue cape that gave him a strangely thin shape.

“Yes, I’m obeying the royal decree and going to the palace to present myself,” Abernath replied.

“I don’t suppose you would like some company on this venture?” the strange man asked.

Abernath hesitated a moment – the company would be nice, but the man before him was just a little too odd for his liking. Before he could answer, he felt a little tug at his sleeve. He looked down to see Perry staring up at him with wide eyes. “What is it, Per?”

“He’s got no feet,” Perry said, pointing to the bottom of the cape.

Abernath looked where Perry was pointing and noticed that there was nothing there – the man appeared to be floating. Abernath straightened immediately and gripped the twins tightly. “I’m very sorry, sir, but we really must be going.”

Without looking back, Abernath steered the twins up the street and away from the market. Only when they were in front of their house did he release them from his grasp. That man had been strange, but normal people didn’t float. That was black magic they had witnessed back there, and black magic was nothing good.

Leave a Reply

