#23 The Countdown Begins

There’s only ten days left now until NaNoWriMo starts and I couldn’t be more excited!

For a start, I haven’t been this excited to write a novel in a long time. I really enjoyed re-reading my work a few days ago and I can’t wait to jump back in.

Another thing is that I actually have an outline for this novel! I never do that! I’m so glad that I did this time around though, because I don’t think I would have been able to pick up where I left off if I hadn’t.

Then there’s the cover! Guys, I am ridiculously excited about the cover that is getting made for me right now. I showed you guys the black and white picture, well I went back and asked the guy if he could colour it for me and maybe add a background to spice it up a bit and I’m so excited to see what he comes up with!

I’ve decided that I’m going to send a proof copy to Tom Gauld (for inspiring the story with his poster) and a proof copy to Nizar, the artist (for inspiring me with such awesome artwork!). So hopefully NaNo is still doing that 5 free proofs for winners thing through Createspace, otherwise I’m going to have to fork out some money. The third proof copy would’ve gone to my friend in South Africa because she likes the little collection of books she’s getting that were written by me, the fourth I would’ve kept myself and the fifth would’ve gone to a 13 year old that I know who read the first couple of chapters when I first wrote them and loved them. (So I really need those five free proofs NaNo 😉 )

In other news, I’ve ordered a mini critique of the beginning of An Epic Tale from Cornerstones Literary Consultants – who do fantastic work, even if they are a bit out of my price range (yay for having savings to dip into!). I should get that back around November 5th once they’ve lined up an editor for me.

And I also saw a post by an agent on Twitter this morning (although the tweet was made last night sometime) that said they were going to start doing first page critiques on their blog. When I went to the blog, I noticed a post called ‘My Wishlist’ and clicked on it. The agent is actively looking for Middle Grade Adventure stories (that sounds like An Epic Tale right there). So, I’m going to send my first page in for that as well.

I like to do as much as I can to get the ball rolling while I’m still writing. It gives me the extra motivation to finish!

Anyway, happy Wednesday guys! I hope you’re all as excited about NaNo (if you’re participating) as me!

Heather

Leave a Reply

