#22 Playing With Fonts

I woke up this morning to an email letting me know that the artist I hired from Fiverr to do a sketch for the mock cover of An Epic Tale had finished and my order was ready. I was not prepared for the awesome that I was about to see.


Characters

 

How freaking cool is that sketch?! I mean, seriously? I showed you guys the horrible draft sketch that I gave the guy, right? Look at what he did with that! Can you tell that I’m super excited by this drawing?

Anyway, since I want this to be on my cover, I cropped it a bit so the watermark was off it (don’t worry, if I ever self-publish with this on the cover, I’ll credit the artist on the copyright page) and then started playing around with fonts. I’m not sure I’m really happy with it, but finding good, free fonts for commercial use is hard!

I have four that I kind of like, but three of them look a bit bland. The fourth one is kind of cool, but I’m not sure if it’s right for the story. So, thoughts? This is the fourth one:

4.

 

Also, colour or no colour? I kind of like it in the black and white style it’s got, but thoughts?

Happy Tuesday guys.

Heather.

3 thoughts on “#22 Playing With Fonts

  1. Hi Heather – I studied Graphic Design back in the day, so fonts are a worrying hobby for me (or at least they used to be).

    What I’d say about this one is that it’s suitable enough, but does look *very* Tim Burton in style, so that may give people a pre-conception of the story type, as people can be surprisingly quick to judge on that sort of basis.

    In terms of the cover layout – here’s an idea – keep the sketch in black and white, but overlay onto a photorealistic (but faded down) scene in line with your book’s general feel? Does that make sense?

    Either that or a nice block colour – plain black and white on a book cover can make it look a little cheap unless the printing is on very good quality material or the work is very minimalist.

    (Again, this is all opinion from me, so tell me to bugger off if you like. If I can ever help out with fonts and things, though, feel free to hit me up on Facebook.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

