#20 An Epic Tale

Today I’d like to talk a little about the novel I’ll be writing during NaNoWriMo in November.

As I mentioned in an earlier post, this story was inspired by a poster I saw on the internet. The poster is called ‘Characters For An Epic Tale‘ and it’s by Tom Gauld. Here’s the picture:

My goal when I first started writing An Epic Tale, was to include all the characters from this poster in the story. So far, the novel is 12k long and I’ve included several of the characters already, with many more to come. This is the first story that I wrote an outline for in a long, long time and I have to say I’m so glad I did! If I didn’t have the outline, I would have lost the original thread of the story and have no idea where it was heading.

I decided to look Tom up on Twitter to see and tweet him to let him know that his work was my inspiration and got a reply!

Untitled

So, on November 1st, I’m going to bash out the rest of the story and hopefully it’ll turn out awesome – or at least, be the rough draft of something that has the potential to be awesome! Once I have a completed manuscript, I’m definitely going to tweet Mr Gauld back and let him know that it’s finished! I’ll even send him a proof copy if he wants.

Currently, I’m waiting on an email back from Cornerstones Literary Consultants to get a quote for a Mini Critique Report for the beginning of An Epic Tale and its synopsis. Hopefully I can 1. afford it and 2. get it back before November 1st. Cornerstones really helped me out with That’s Charming when they did an In Depth Report for it, so I know that their comments will be constructive.

To pass the time I’ve been messing around with ideas for covers for An Epic Tale. Although I’m pretty good at drawing, I couldn’t get my idea to look right, so I ended up doing a quick stickperson sketch and sent it to my boyfriend in the hopes that his illustrator friend will do me a solid and help me out. Below is my horribly drawn up draft for a cover (please excuse it’s giganticness!):

The basic idea is an ensemble in the middle looking… well, epic! Throw in an epic font and it’ll be good to go. I haven’t yet decided if I’m going to self publish this story or if I’m going to query it to agents (I like to decide ahead of time, not really sure why), so the cover might end up just being for the proof copy I’ll get at the end of NaNoWriMo when I win. Yes, when I win. I’m not letting failure be an option this year!

Anyways, have a great weekend guys! See you Monday.

Heather

 

One thought on “#20 An Epic Tale

Leave a Reply

