#18 NaNoWriMo Approaches!

November is fast approaching and with all the running around like a headless chicken stuff that I’ve been doing trying to keep on top of everything, I’d almost forgotten about it.

I filled out my profile on the revamped site yesterday and I’m feeling confident about my choice of story this year. I’ve participated in NaNo for many years, but haven’t won for the last couple of years. I’m hoping to change that this year.

The novel that I’ve chosen to write for NaNo this year is An Epic Tale. It’s a middle grade fantasy/adventure that follows a young boy as he travels to the castle to present himself to the princess – not because he really wants to, but because there was a royal decree telling him he must do so. He’s joined by his younger twin siblings, the family’s magical cow, and a mysterious stranger.

The story blossomed in my head after I saw this picture somewhere on the internet:

The poster is by a guy called Tom Gauld. I thought it was fantastic and decided that I would write a story that included all of these characters.

At the moment, An Epic Tale is sitting on around 11k, so I’ll probably need to start writing something else during the month too to get my 50k. My main goal for NaNoWriMo this year is to finish An Epic Tale. I really do love the idea and the story and hopefully other people will like it too.

Is anyone else doing NaNo this year? If so, what will you be writing?

Happy Wednesday!

Heather

One thought on “#18 NaNoWriMo Approaches!

Leave a Reply

