#15 Haikus

I’ve been reading ahead in the study material for my Creative Writing module and I came across an exercise for writing Haikus. I’d heard of these before, but never tried them. Here’s the six Haikus that I came up with for the exercise.

As winter draws in
All the warmth I could need
Is right in his arms

Darkness grows to light
In the cool brightness of dawn
Bright hope for the day

Steam clouds my vision
Soft bubbles all around me
Relaxing bath time

That gentle jump
In the pit of my stomach
When I hear his voice

The clash of steel sounds
As weapons crash together
And I kill some orcs

The blank page mocks me
As I sit back and think
But nothing comes

Not sure if they’re any good or not, but I gave it a go!

Happy Friday everyone.

Heather

Leave a Reply

