#8 Book Review: The Bermudez Triangle

Book Review: The Bermudez Triangle by Maureen Johnson

270363

I’ve only recently picked up Maureen Johnson books and, having only read two of them so far, it’s been a mixed bag. I rather likeĀ 13 Little Blue Envelopes, even if it didn’t capture my interest completely, but I struggled with this particular novel.

The Bermudez Triangle follows three best friends – Nina, Mel, and Avery. Nina is struggling with her long-distance relationship after returning from a pre-college summer program. Avery is struggling with her sexuality and the fact that she’s fallen for her best friend. Mel is struggling with the consequences of her sexuality and the fact that she’s fallen for her best friend.

As a straight girl, I can’t really comment on the authenticity of the lesbian relationships, or the fallout and such from this, but it seemed very stereotyped to me. I wanted to like the characters, but I found it hard. Nina is a smart girl and yet she chooses to go back to a boy that cheats on her and only wants a relationship with her when it would be convenient for him. Mel seems to just be the timid girl who also happens to be a lesbian, she spends months pining over her broken relationship when she apparently knew it would happen. Avery is the loose cannon that doesn’t know what she wants and just wreaks havoc.

Of all the characters, Parker was my favourite – he was a joker who tried his best to make things better for everyone and I really grew fond of him for trying.

The majority of the story is Nina pining for her boyfriend in Oregon and Mel and Avery trying to figure out what’s going on with them. It was quite a slow paced plot and I found myself trudging through it. It did have its moments, though they were few for me, so I wouldn’t call it a terrible story. It was just average.

Rating: 3 stars

Leave a Reply

