#6 On Twitter and the Writing Community

I am not great at social media of any kind. I have started numerous accounts on numerous places – Facebook, Twitter, Google+ – and slowly but surely abandoned them all because I don’t know how to do social media. I struggle to come up with things to say. Like this blog, for example. It was a bad idea for me to think I could post something new every day Monday to Friday. I haven’t even gotten to seven posts and I’m already struggling to think of things to post.

My problem is that I want to be helpful to other writers as well as talking a bit about my work.

But it’s alright. I’ll get there with a bit of perseverance.

The thing I wanted to talk about today is how Twitter has opened my eyes to a whole new side of the writing and publishing community. I made a new Twitter account recently (@hlwrites0490) and the first thing I discovered was PitchWars. I started following some people from it and pretty soon the number of people I was following was up to 70! These people included others like me, who were still trying to find their footing in writing and publishing; already published authors, who were more than willing to help out and give advice; some publishing houses so I could keep abreast of any competition or submission information; and finally agents, so I could see what they were looking for.

The community on Twitter is very interactive and welcoming and I can’t believe I didn’t find it sooner. I may not participate in it much yet, but I’m hoping that I’ll be able to make some great new writer friends through it some day.

As I’ve said, I’m not sure what to really post about, so it’s a short post today.

Have a great day everyone!

Heather

Leave a Reply

