#5 The NaNoWriMo Journey

In November, hundreds of thousands of aspiring and professional writers take the journey to complete a novel of 50,000 words during the month. 30 days of non-stop writing with the aim of getting the story finished. It’s not about having the most perfectly polished story, it’s not about writing the best story. Not yet. November is for getting the words on the page.

I’ve participated in NaNoWriMo since 2007 – I haven’t ‘won’ every year, but I’ve taken a stab at it every year. I love the freedom that writing without thinking gives me. I am a pantser – I don’t plan ahead. On November 1st, I pick a story and sit down at my computer. Then I write. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t.

Now that we’re almost into October, I’m starting to think about what I want to write for my NaNo this November. I plan on tracking my progress on the blog for extra motivation and I’m also trying to convince the boyfriend to join me so he can turn a fantastic idea into a proper story (he has a lot of it fleshed out because he likes worldbuilding, but he’s never really tried his hand at writing before).

I have a few stories that I’m trying to decide between:

1. An Epic Tale

It’s a fantasy/adventure for a middle grade audience that was inspired by a poster called Characters for an Epic Tale. It has about 7k to it right now.

2. Ashlyn and the Sea Voyage

This is the second in my Ashlyn series and I’ve tried to start it a number of times – and never really gotten into it. It’s also a fantasy/adventure.

3. Hunted

My vampire story that I absolutely love but have no idea where it’s going. It’s a dystopian/supernatural story for an older audience.

4. Myth

This one is an idea I have based around a mythical Scotland where all the legends are true – the creatures exist, the fables are true, etc. I have tried to plan this one a little bit, but haven’t gotten very far.

I’m not sure which story to choose and I’m sure that I will spend the next month trying to decide.

If you’re interested in joining the NaNoWriMo frenzy, click here for the official website. My username is TeeVee if you want to add me as a writing buddy 🙂

Is anyone else participating in NaNo? Do you know what you’re going to write about?

Hope everyone has a great day!

Heather

Leave a Reply

